Amazing contributions of Sisterhood . . . since 1924

All the Sisterhood Presidents brought leadership, dignity, intelligence and creativity during their administration.

Beth Shalom Sisterhood formed on September 12, 1915 as a group of only 33 women. They elected their first President, Mrs. A. I. Louis. The group started with the idea of making the synagogue a cultural home. Sisterhood became affiliated with the Women’s League of Conservative Judaism in 1920.

While programs come and go, we are proud many of Beth Shalom Sisterhood’s projects are still current. The projects still current today are designated in bold with an asterisk*. Information gleaned from our archives, old scrapbooks and the DVD taped in 2009 by Rickie Haith of the living past presidents. These are original highlights of their respective administrations.

Sisterhood received many awards from International Women’s league over the years for exceptional community service, unique programs, Jewish Education and spirituality continue reading . . .

Congregation Beth Shalom

14200 Lamar Avenue, Overland Park, KS 66223
Phone - (913) 647-7279

Stay Connected